Skip to main content

‘NonProfit Times’ Announces Sector’s Top 50 for 2008

Resource type: News

Philantopic/NonProfit Times | [ View Original Source (opens in new window) ]

The NonProfit Times, a leading business publication covering the nonprofit sector, has released its eleventh annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

No real surprises, except for the large number of first-timers on the list. Makes perfect sense, actually, given that the sector is in the early innings of what promises to be an unprecedented leadership transition from the baby boom generation to Generations X and Y. New to the list this year are Lewis M. Feldstein, president of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Sara K. Gould, president and CEO of the Ms. Foundation for Women; Wade Henderson, president and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights; Marguerite Kondrake, president and CEO of America’s Promise Alliance; Wendy Kopp, founder and CEO of Teach for America; Gara LaMarche, president and CEO of Atlantic Philanthropies; Kathryn E. Merchant, president and CEO of the Greater Cincinnati Foundation; Steven T. Miller, commissioner of the IRS Tax-Exempt and Government Entities Division; William L. (Larry) Minnix, Jr., president and CEO of the American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging; Wayne Pacelle, president and CEO of the Humane Society of the United States; Fr. Larry Snyder, president and CEO of Catholic Charities USA; Vincent Stehle, program director for nonprofit sector support at the New York City-based Surdna Foundation; Dorothy Stoneman, founder and president of YouthBuild USA; and Marnie Webb, co-CEO of CompuMentor.

Those on the 2008 list who also were named to last year’s list include Diana Aviv, president and CEO of Independent Sector; Gary Bass, founder and executive director of OMB Watch; Phil Buchanan, executive director of the Center for Effective Philanthropy; Israel L. Gaither, national commander of the Salvation Army; Brian Gallagher, president and CEO of the United Way of America; Steve Gunderson, president and CEO of the Council on Foundations; Michelle Nunn, CEO of the Points of Light Institute; and Lorie A. Slutsky, president of the New York Community Trust.

Returning to the list after having fallen off for at least a year were Kelly Browning, executive vice president of the American Institute for Cancer Research; Melinda Gates, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; and Sterling Speirn, president and CEO of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. In addition, there are now only two leaders who have appeared in all eleven editions: William C. McGinly, president and CEO of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy, and Eugene R. Tempel, executive director of the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University.

To view or download the complete list, visit the NPT Web site.