Skip to main content

Irish America Hall of Fame inductees are announced

Resource type: News

Irish Central | [ View Original Source (opens in new window) ]

By PATRICK COOPER, Staff Writer.

Irish America Magazine has announced the 2011 Hall of Fame inductees who will be inducted on March 15th, 2011 in New York. The inductees in alphabetical order are:

Dr. Kevin Cahill is President-general of the American Irish Historical Society who has done lifelong work preventing famine and treating disease in desperately poor societies. His ancestors hail from Kerry.

Mary Higgins Clark is the leading suspense novelist in America as well as the 2011 Grand Marshal of the St. Patrick’s Day parade. Her Irish roots are in Roscommon.

Charles Feeney, who Time Magazine recognized as one of the greatest philanthropists of the 20th century has donated billions to education and charitable causes in Ireland will also be inducted. Feeney’s ancestry traces to Fermanagh.

Michael Flatley, the creator of ‘Lord of the Dance’ and one of the originators of ‘Riverdance’ is also among the class of 2011. Flatley’s final ‘Lord of the Dance’ performance was filmed and will be released in theaters in 3D on March 17, 2011. The Chicago-born Flatley traces his Irish roots to Sligo.

William J. Flynn is former Chairman and CEO of Mutual of America who played a deeply important role in the Irish American contribution to the Irish peace process. His people hail from Mayo and Down.

Denis Kelleher is the only Irish-born nominee, hailing from Kerry. He is founder and chairman of Wall Street Access and a deeply committed humanitarian and advocate on Irish issues.

Jean Kennedy Smith is a former Ambassador to Ireland who played a leading role in the Irish peace process and has been a leading humanitarian along with other members of the Kennedy family.

Dr. James Watson, scientist  who won the Nobel Prize for his co-discovery of DNA , described as the most important scientific breakthrough of the 20th century Watson traces his Irish roots to Tipperary.

SEE PHOTOS – 2011 inductees to the Irish America Hall of Fame


View Original Source.