Skip to main content

ASP announces 2008 T. Franklin Williams Scholars

Resource type: News

Eurekalert |

The Association of Specialty Professors (ASP) is pleased to announce the seventh class of T. Franklin Williams Scholars. These scholars are recipients of two- and four-year career development awards funded by a generous grant from the Atlantic Philanthropies (USA) Inc., supported by the John A. Hartford Foundation, and co-sponsored by 12 partnering internal medicine specialty societies. The 12 new investigators funded under this initiative will join the 52 previously announced T. Franklin Williams Scholars to achieve the program goal of integrating geriatrics into the specialties of internal medicine. T. Franklin Williams Scholars conduct a research project and pursue a career development plan focused on a geriatric aspect of their specialty. Recipients must meet several criteria to be eligible for the award including completion of an internal medicine specialty fellowship and dedication of 75% of their professional effort to medical research. The program provides recipients awards of $50,000 to $75,000 per year to support the early stages of their academic careers. The seventh class of T. Franklin Williams Scholars: Steven G. Coca, DO Yale University School of Medicine Effect of Acute Kidney Injury on Long-Term Kidney Function in Elderly Patients American Society of Nephrology-ASP Junior Development Award in Geriatric Nephrology Elizabeth Haney, MD Oregon Health and Science University Bone Turnover and Bone Loss Among Older Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor Users Society of General Internal Medicine-Association of Chiefs of General Internal Medicine-ASP T. Franklin Williams Scholars Award in Geriatrics Jeffrey C. Horowitz, MD University of Michigan Medical School Myofibroblast Fate Determination by Extracellular Matrix Evaluations ASP-CHEST Foundation of the American College of Chest Physicians Geriatric Development Research Award Kim M. Huffman, MD, PhD

Related Resources



Global Impact:

United States


T. Franklin Williams Scholars