Skip to main content

Announcing the 2010-2011 class of Health and Aging Policy Fellows

Resource type: News

Health and Aging Policy Fellows | [ View Original Source (opens in new window) ]

The Health and Aging Policy Fellows Program is delighted to announce the 2010-2011 class of Health and Aging Policy Fellows.

The goal of the Health and Aging Policy Fellows Program is to create a cadre of professional leaders who will serve as positive change agents in health and aging policy, helping to shape a healthy and productive future for older Americans. The program is supported by The Atlantic Philanthropies and directed by Harold Alan Pincus, MD, Professor of Psychiatry at Columbia University (in collaboration with the American Political Science Association Congressional Fellowship Program).

The Residential Fellows will spend a year in Washington, D.C. working on Capitol Hill or in an executive branch agency. The Non-Residential Fellows will stay in their current positions while working on health policy projects. All Fellows will participate in core program components focused on leadership in health and aging policy, and career and communications skill development.

The program is open to physicians, nurses and social workers at all career stages with a demonstrated commitment to health and aging issues and a desire to be involved in health policy at the federal, state or local level. Other professionals with clinical backgrounds (e.g., pharmacists, dentists, clinical psychologists) working in the field of health and aging are also eligible to apply. Under special circumstances, exceptions may be made for non-clinicians who are in positions that can impact health policy for older Americans at a clinical level.

The 2010-2011 Health and Aging Policy Fellows are:

XinQi Dong, MD, MPH
(Non-Residential Fellow)
Associate Professor of Medicine and Nursing
Rush University Medical Center

Angelica P. Herrera, DrPH, MPH
(Residential Fellow)
National Institute of Mental Health Postdoctoral Fellow
Stein Institute for Research on Aging
University of California, San Diego,
Director of Health Disparities Research
Family Health Centers of San Diego

Bruce Leff, MD
(Non-Residential Fellow)
Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Joint Appointment, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health

Lené Levy-Storms, PhD, MPH
(Non-Residential Fellow)
Hartford Faculty Scholar/Lewis Center Fellow
Associate Professor of Social Welfare and Medicine/Geriatrics
University of California, Los Angeles

Joseph G. Ouslander, MD
(Non-Residential Fellow)
Professor and Associate Dean for Geriatric Programs
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, and
Professor (Courtesy)
Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing
Florida Atlantic University

Eileen M. Sullivan-Marx, PhD, CRNP, FAAN
(Non-Residential Fellow)
Associate Professor of Scholarly Practice
Associate Dean for Practice & Community Affairs
Shearer Endowed Term Chair for Health Community Practice
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Mary E. Tinetti, MD
(Residential Fellow)
Gladys Phillips Crofoot Professor of Medicine and Public Health
Director of the Program on Aging and the Claude D. Pepper Center
Yale School of Medicine

Lisa M. Troy, PhD
(Residential Fellow)
Scientist III, Jean Mayer Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy
Tufts University

Irene H. Yen, PhD, MPH
(Non-Residential Fellow supported by the CDC)
Assistant Professor
Division of General Internal Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

For bios of the 2010-2011 Health and Aging Policy Fellows and further information on the program, please visit


The Health and Aging Policy Fellows Program is made possible by a grant to the Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene.