Skip to main content

President McAleese announces 2008 Pride of Place Award Winners

Resource type: News

Co-Operation Ireland | [ View Original Source (opens in new window) ]

President of Ireland, Mary McAleese, was guest of honour at the All-Island Pride of Place Gala Awards ceremony at Cappoquin Community Centre, Waterford on Saturday 6 November). Hosted by Waterford County Council the President announced the winners to an audience of approximately 500, which included representatives from all of the 113 nominated groups.

During the evening, the President paid tribute to all the participating groups who work tirelessly to create and promote pride in their cities, towns and villages.

The Pride of Place Competition recognises and celebrates the vital contributions that community partnerships make to society. The focus is on people coming together to shape, change and enjoy all that is good about their local area. It differs from other similar projects in that they specifically recognise the involvement of the local community in all aspects of rural and urban regeneration including, promoting social cohesion, involvement in planning, the promotion of heritage and environmental awareness.

This is the sixth year of the Pride of Place Competition, which is run by Co-operation Ireland in partnership with the All-Island Local Authority Steering Forum, a forum which encourages strategic and sustainable approaches to cross-border co-operation by Local Authorities.

Local Authorities from practically every county in Ireland have nominated groups in their local area. Each of the nominees demonstrated what can be achieved when people work together to enhance and change parts of their area for the good of the whole community.

Tony Kennedy Chief Executive of Co-operation Ireland said:

“The unique all-island Pride of Place competition has a positive effect on communities throughout the island of Ireland. It highlights local authorities commitment to supporting groups who undertake initiatives to improve their communities. Although there can only be one winner in each category, tonight is a opportunity to recognise and celebrate the efforts of all groups.”

Prizes were awarded to the winner and two runners-up in six population and three themed categories. Awards in the separate cities competition and number of special awards were also announced.

Cities Category 4.

• Winner: Engage with Age, Belfast City • Runner up: Mahon Retired Residents, Cork City

Photo Caption: 2008 Pride of Place Gala Awards Ceremony held in Cappoquin Community Centre, Waterford. Winners Awards, Cities Category 4. President Mary McAleese with Jim Stitt and City Manager Margy Washbrook, Engage with Age, Belfast City. Winners. Photographer Sean Byrne